There comes a time in everyone’s life when they simply want to escape all the distractions and just find some solace. This may be the time for you, and what bigger distraction can there be other than social media? Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc keep us so busy that we often just miss out on life. It may seem confusing when one wants to deactivate or delete an instagram account. So if you want to delete an Instagram account, here are the steps you need to follow in order to make sure you are deleting the app correctly.
How to Download your Data Before you Delete An Instagram Account
Be it an iPhone or Android product, the steps to delete Instagram remain the same and may not vary when it comes to downloading the data before you delete an Instagram account.
- You can see your profile picture which is located in the corner of the bottom right. Simply tap on it.
- There will be 3 lines in the corner of the upper right. Tap on them.
- There will be an option of “Your activity”. Click on it.
- You can download your data by clicking on “Download Your Information.”
- You can further “Request Download”.
- Next, your password will be required..
- Lastly, “Request Download.”
How to Delete An Instagram Account
Now when it comes to completely bid farewell to your Instagram account forever, then the steps are simple to delete an instagram account. You, however, cannot do that through your phone, you will need a laptop or computer that has a web browser. Then you can delete an Instagram account very easily.
Here is how your account will be deleted permanently, in easy and simple steps.
- Use a browser to access and delete an Instagram account. Make sure you do not mix up accounts if you have more than one account.
- There will be an option for deleting the account page for which you will need a link and it cannot be accessed through the menu.
- You will see this image in the next step after you put in details and reasoning about your decision to delete an Instagram account.
- You will be asked for your password in order to permanently delete an Instagram account.
- Tap on the option of “Permanently delete my account”.
These steps will delete an Instagram account right on the spot and all your data will be lost if not downloaded. Anything linked to the account will all be lost. You will receive a message from the Instagram team which will inform you that the account is no longer functional and they regret to bid farewell to you. But one thing is clear, that data will fully be lost from the server after 3 months after the deletion. If for legal motives, Instagram keeps minor information on the servers, then that is permitted and informed beforehand only in the data policy of Instagram.
Can Too Much Usage of Instagram be a Problem?
Privacy Issues Resulting from Overuse
Yes, it certainly can be a problem if you use your Instagram account too much. This can be risky for your privacy firstly, as Instagram has so many people on it. People often follow and pretend to be who they are not. They can often be fake profiles and many people have fallen prey to scams due to this issue. However, at the same time, one needs to know that healthy usage is not harmful and one can definitely go for it in their free time.
Health Risks Resulting from Overuse
There are definitely many health risks too. Your mental health can be affected by using too much social media as it often distracts you from meaningful interactions with work and life in general. Often comparing your life with the life of others can also be problematic as Instagram surely looks great and the pictures are great to look at! It can also lead to bad eyesight because using your device so much can turn your eyes itchy and make you rub them more. Therefore the problems associated are problematic due to the light that your device omits.
However, it is not easy to delete an Instagram account for the ones who have quite an addiction to using it, because it does make them pass their day therefore you need to have enough motivation to decide what you want to do. There needs to be enough reasoning a person has to do with themselves to not install the app again later because it is definitely quite addictive and a person does end up missing it.
Is deactivating Instagram better than the option to delete an Instagram account?
Yes, deactivating is a better option for sure when one does change their mind later. However, some people want to delete an Instagram account due to it being hacked, and that is when the better option is to simply delete it.
How often does a person use Instagram in a day?
Well, people spend at least 3 hours on Instagram each day, but the better option is to use less phone and do more exercise. This is better for health and daily routine, it also keeps relationships better.
Can Instagram record you or listen to you?
Well, it is definitely a surpise that often we are talking about something, and the next minute we start seeing sponsored ads on Instagram. That does seem a little fishy and therefore it does feel like Instagram does breach a level of privacy. It is better to check the settings and mute the microphone.
What does the blue tick on Instagram mean?
The blue tick on Instagram means that the person has some sort of fame or popularity which makes the person important enough for Instagram to verify their account with a blue tick so their followers can follow them and find them easily without choosing fake accounts instead.